The Library of the Lithuanian Academy of Sciences in Vilnius conserves a very important source of the music history of the Lithuanian Grand Duchy – a manuscript entitled ‘Liber Tablature’, the collection of scores written in organ tablature notation. This manuscript was created in the beginning of the XVII century in the Braunsberg Jesuit Collegium, which belonged to the Lithuanian Jesuit Province and had close relationship with Vilnius Jesuit Collegium (current Vilnius University). This tablature reveals a broad musical panorama of the XVII century East Prussia, Poland and Lithuania as well as musical relations between these countries. It contains pieces by internationally renowned European composers of the time like Orlando di Lasso, Lodovico da Viadana, Agostino Agazzari, Hans Leo Hassler or William Byrd, and composers who worked in the Lithuanian-Polish Commonwealth, like the chapelmaster of Vasa's Court Annibale Stabile, Andreas Hakenberger from Gdansk, Giovanni Battista Cocciola, who was as chapelmaster in Vilnius, and others. Some of the pieces by famous composers like Lasso are not catalogued in any other sources. A concert programme, created by Canto Fiorito artistic leader Rodrigo Calveyra after long research work, presents pieces from Liber Tablature combined with other tablatures of the same period for organ (Dietrich Buxtehude), lute (John Dowland and Johannes Hieronymus Kapsberger) and harp (Luzzasco Luzzasachi).







Ludovico da Viadana, Exultate justi


Luzzasco Luzzaschi, O Primavera


William Byrd, Laudibus in sancti    


Giovanni Battista Fontana, Sonata 2                    


Orlando di Lasso, Deus in adjutorium meum intende           


Johannes Hieronymus Kapsberger, Toccata 6                   


Orlando di Lasso, Surrexit pastor bonus


Giovanni Croce, Cantate Domino                        


Giovanni Battista Cocciola, Veni dilecte mi


Giovanni Ferretti, Donna crudel


John Dowland/Jacob van Eyck, Flow my tears                       


Dietrich Buxtehude, Fuga in C major


John Dowland, Flow my tears                       


Claudio Monteverdi, Laudate Dominum




1 singer, 1 cornetto/recorder, 1 lute, 1 harpsichord/organ



Download transcriptions from Liber Tabulature made by Rodrigo Calveyra:

Giovanni Battista Cocciola "Veni dilecte mi"

Giovanni Croce "Cantate Domino"

Orlando di Lasso "Deus in adjutorium meum intende"

William Byrd "Laudibus in sanctis"